New CSSC Members

- Rotating Off -- Diego Janches, Han-li Liu, Bill Bristow
- Coming on-Board Tony van Eyken, Mark Conde, Tim Fuller-Rowell
- Chair elect -- John Foster
- Student Representative Elizabeth Bass

Interesting News

- The Division of Atmospheric Sciences (ATM) becomes the Division of Geospace and Atmospheric Sciences (AGS) on Oct 1, 2009.
- We are in urgent need of somebody to take over AER from Cassandra Fesen who leaves in late September.
- Bob Robinson won an award as an outstanding Program Manager yesterday at the NSF awards ceremony.
- HAO has announced that Michael Knoelker is stepping down in Sept 2009 and a broad search will be conducted.

Don't cry for AMISR Argentina

- Thanks to Diego Janches, we have made significant progress with Argentina (both gov't and universities) and it now looks likely one AMISR face will move to Argentina (Arecibo's conjugate point) within 4 years.
- A small workshop will be held in Buenos Aires this November to further plans
- **AND....**

Canada Foundation for Innovation

Successful proposal for funding to complete the third AMISR face looking south over Canada from Resolute Bay

Acknowledgements:

- Proposal Team:
 - Eric Donovan, Mike Greffen, Susan Skone, and David Knudsen (U. of Calgary), John Kelly (SRI), J. P. St Maurice and Kathryn McWilliams (U. of Saskatchewan), John Foster (MIT Haystack), Wayne Hocking (U. of Western Ontario), Martin Connors (Athabasca University)
- AMISR Team at SRI
 - John Kelly, Craig Heinselman, Todd Valentic, Moyra Malone, Shelly Easterday
- Instigator
 - Tony van Eyken (now at SRI)
- Helpers
 - Jan Sojka (Utah State U.), Koki Chau (Jicamarca Radio Observatory)

